New Year, New Failure

New year, new start would be the title of this blog, if I actually believed that this year would be any different from the last one. January is a time for every dick with internet access to proclaim that its their year, when realistically all that they’ll amount to is a couple of blog posts and some Instagram shots of their dinner/shoes before giving up on it all. The internet is full of dead blogs, of well intended, or even poorly intended attempts at adding something worthwhile to the millions of words that are typed into WordPress, Blogger, Tumblr etc every single day. How is yours different, how will it stand out from the rest of the dirge? It won’t. For all the self promo on Twitter, it’s a struggle to get even ten views for a new post. At least it is for me, seeing as out of my five friends, only one of them knows how to use the internet. My point is that we all start out with good intentions but they soon fade. I’ve got some great ideas – I was going to start making bags and shirts, I was going to start my own pickle business. I was going to start a fanzine. I even came up with a name, but now it’s just a poorly maintained Tumblr. Maybe one day I’ll get my act together and actually do something. In the meantime, I’ll probably just sit on the Oi Polloi website, waiting for them to reduce their sale prices.

In order to make this post seem less self-indulgent and whiny, above is one of my favourite songs from last year. I thought about doing some sort of music top five, like my super successful food top 10 (6 views!), but I realised that the older I get, the more I hate new music. This song would probably have been on that list. RiFF RaFF is ridiculous is the best possible way, and without Action Bronson I would never have got the phrase “Rap Game David Chang” on the ASOS website. Aside from getting blocked by some foodie knobheads on Twitter, it was probably my greatest achievement last year. And if that’s not a job well done then I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

